All the more time for kicking, I say

Dude – that fake beard is gnarley!

Dude – that fake beard is gnarley!

The founder of Groklaw, Pamela Jones, writes,

The owner of Lavabit tells us that he’s stopped using email and if we knew what he knew, we’d stop too.

Lavabit is the email provider I’ve used for years, because it was the most secure. Like many of my personality type, I have privacy issues. Turns out Edward Snowden used Lavabit, too. The last time I went to the site to check my mail online, I found:

I have been forced to make a difficult decision: to become complicit in crimes against the American people or walk away from nearly ten years of hard work by shutting down Lavabit. After significant soul searching, I have decided to suspend operations. I wish that I could legally share with you the events that led to my decision. I cannot. I feel you deserve to know what’s going on–the first amendment is supposed to guarantee me the freedom to speak out in situations like this. Unfortunately, Congress has passed laws that say otherwise. As things currently stand, I cannot share my experiences over the last six weeks, even though I have twice made the appropriate requests.

It sounds like some national security agency (not necessarily named thusly), has served them with a National Security Letter, which, in the current “transparent” administration, are secret, which includes telling anybody that you have been sent one.

So I won, for a while, with an excellent email provider, but lost, finally, to an expert surveillance state.

Ms. Jones continues, explaining why she’s no longer going forward with Groklaw,

My personal decision is to get off of the Internet to the degree it’s possible. I’m just an ordinary person. But I really know, after all my research and some serious thinking things through, that I can’t stay online personally without losing my humanness, now that I know that ensuring privacy online is impossible. I find myself unable to write. I’ve always been a private person.

So since I too am spending less and less time online, I’m not looking for footbiking news and have lost my appetite for posting to Scooter-Sport. I’ve had it, too, with more and more revelations coming about Big Brother. (Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they’re not out to get you.) When the rent on the domain name scooter-sport.com comes due I’ll make a decision as to whether to take the site down or what. Right now I’m going out for a kick.

Leave a Reply

