Going the distance on the SportPed

SportPed on the road pic

Today I had to take my car to the garage for a checkup and leave it, about 4-5 miles from my house, so I flung the SportPed in the back of it and set out. Coming home on the scooter I got a good idea of how the ‘Ped actually performs when some distance needs to be covered.

Conditions were ideal for my kick home; a 15-20-m.p.h. north wind was at my back and so I could give the scooter five kicks and stand still for at least as long, as the wind pushed me along nicely.

Trying to cover distance at some speed I found that the SportPed is very twitchy; I had to consciously relax at the narrow handlebars to keep the front wheel on track, but after a while it came pretty easily. The solid tires magnified every bump on the road surface, but again relaxing minimized any discomfort I might have felt, including in my hands from gripping the bars too tightly. (Riding one-handed to attend to other things needed a smooth stretch of bike path, but proceeded without any real problem.)

The hubs were very free-spinning and I caught and dropped a beach-cruiser bicycle without trying. (This was a young guy tooling along; I was surprised he let himself be dropped by a kids’ scooter, but when I looked back he was further and further behind – a mellow fellow.) The wide deck was fine as I didn’t have to pivot or hop-switch my feet for the same position on it, and by the end of the trip I was pretty comfortable.

It’s not as quick as a Kick- or Footbike, and not as stable, but it’s a nice addition to my stable of scooters and will have a happy home in the back of the SUV as a “lifeboat,” which was my original official rationale for buying it – nice how that worked out.

4 Responses

  1. So Pete, how many do you have and what types are they? Do you have a fleet photo?

  2. Two bicycles and three scooters – they’re the last five entries on this page beginning with the Specialized Crossroads bike. The others are history.

  3. Once upon a time I had a crash on my bicycle that raised a great hematoma on my groin and remembered seeing some sort of giant scooter on the ‘net. I had the idea I could work that while my groin healed and so bought – signt unseen – the cheapest Kickbike (I don’t think Footbikes were around yet). Put on the front Pletscher rack that I found at Rivendell and finally settled on the Dove handlebars, and love the result. (There’s not that much difference between Kickbikes, except for components and frame materials; but I’m old enough that steel bicycle frames were my favorite [albeit Reynolds 531 and Columbus SL]). Scooter frames don’t undergo the same stresses as bike frames, either.

    In the light of later Kickbikes and Footbikes, I do like the older twin-pivot sidepull brakes and threaded headsets, too. The whole bike reminds me of a Raleigh 3-speed. (The Footbike is nice and stiff, like my old Raleigh Professional race bike, but the ground clearance is not as good as the Kickbike with the same deck height.)

  4. I see! The very nice Kickbike City is the one I probably should have chosen back when I was instead flying around on the KickBike Millennium Racer.

Leave a Reply

