DIY GoPed KickPed: Bob not yet my uncle

Modified KnowPed pic

When NYCEWheels’ custom KickPed came to my attention I saw it as even more Zen, if you will, than even a typical footbike: It came without spokes, pneumatic tires or a cabled hand brake. As the NYCEWheels website puts it:

Only what is absolutely needed comes with the KickPed, nothing to break, no extra weight to carry around, nothing to worry about. The KickPed commuter scooter is stripped of all gimmicks, down to the bare necessities.

These modifications come at a price, though – the KickPed at the time of writing will set you back $239 – no great shakes. But the original GoPed KnowPed, the uncustomized basis of the KickPed, is a bit less; at Amazon I found the blue version to be marked down from $189 to around $150 (when I bought it – oddly then less expensive than the red one).

That was a bit of luck for me; the blue KnowPed matched my AW Footbike and my restored 1970’s Sears Free-Spirit 12-speed bicycle. I pried open the old purse and sent for one.

When it arrived I found it to be a neat and sturdy little mount, although encumbered with more decals than a NASCAR racer, a front-brake assembly that indeed seemed an afterthought and a wide deck with GoPed spelled out on the footboard in a non-slip material.

The front brake came off (the scooter won’t go fast enough to defeat the rear-fender-brake), not to mention the decals and the nylon strap designed to hold it together folded and the reflective sleeve that held the brake cable (sort of) in place. Much of my labor involved cleaning the frame of the gunk that adhered the stickers and sleeve.

Next is where I made my mistake: cutting down the deck. I ruled the bottom of the mounted deck, using a yardstick next to the deck’s mounting tabs ensuring an eighth of an inch overlap so that if my ankle brushed the side of the finished deck I would be protected from the tabs. I shellacked it up and reassembled the scooter.

Indeed, the now-narrow deck, with the non-slip logo, made it impossible to pivot my foot for a leg-change. And the scooter is wiggly enough that a hop-switch isn’t tenable. The original ovoid deck might have been better, as one could stand with feet side-by-side, dropping one and then the other to the ground to kick.

(There are some amazing aftermarket decks available, as the original GoPed is motorized and widely raced, but they are expensive – and still wide. And NYCEWheels’ KickPed still has a non-slip deck. These people don’t know about alternating kicking legs.)

Still, the cut-down deck looks much better. My solution is to reverse the deck so the (very non-slip) logo will be on the bottom, and bare (albeit shellacked) wood will be the standing platform. I’ll need to countersink the other side of the mounting holes and drill one more, as one of the fender-mounting holes is offset, but then Bob should become my uncle.

UPDATE: Found a nice aftermarket aluminum deck on the Interwebs and mixed it in and Lo! the SportPed was born.

One Response

  1. Love the Kickped BUT do you have an agent or outlets in the UK ? Got stung on VAT last time l bought from USA.

Leave a Reply

