Slightly off-topic: Dave Riley’s Flying Crutchman

graphic of boatbuildingThere’s but one degree of separation between Dave Riley and footbiking. In general, we’re interested in what he’s interested in – especially primitive transportation (if he would have it that way).

But being the extreme minimalist I am, I’m content to forego ownership of even the rudest paddleboard and instead regard them at my leisure. Dave, on the other hand, has cobbled together a veritable Spray with a stand-up paddleboard and some crutches:

Second hand crutches can be had for cheap at Op shops and they are sturdy built devices made from layers of laminated wood, held together with bolts. Inch for inch they pack a lot of useful properties for the would-be sailor (such as I). The curves especially are a handy engineering feature.

So when I designed my sailing rig I relied on crutches as my primary building material.

Read the rest at Dave Riley »

Leave a Reply

