On this day in footbiking: Alpo does Paris-Brest-Paris

Alpo at Paris-Brest-Paris 2003In 2003 the amazing Alpo Kuusisto completed the 1200-km Paris-Brest-Paris on a Kickbike, well within the 90-hour limit and astounding most of the conventional entrants.

I asked Alpo (‘My name is Alpo, I like dog food, and I chase bikes!’ he told me) how he did it, and he told me ‘Three pushes left, stand, three pushes right, stand.’ I asked how he handled the hills, and he said ‘Three pushes left, stand, three pushes right, stand, only much faster!'”

Leave a Reply

